Group

UoS Ocean Dynamics & Mixing

Looking for PhD or postdoc opportunities?


Alberto Naveira Garabato
Professor of Physical Oceanography
Ocean and Earth Science, University of Southampton
acng@noc.soton.ac.uk
National Oceanography Centre - 564/17
Eleanor Frajka-Williams
Principal Research Scientist
Curriculum Vitae
Marine Physics and Ocean Climate, National Oceanography Centre
eefw1u08@noc.ac.uk
National Oceanography Centre - 254/23



Research fellows:

Alex Forryan
Research and Teaching Fellow
Ocean and Earth Science, University of Southampton
Office: 564/04
Yvonne Firing
Principal Investigator of the SR1b Drake Passage section and iSTAR Ocean2ice Research Fellow.
yvonne.firing@noc.ac.uk
Clement Vic
RidgeMix Research Fellow
c.vic@soton.ac.uk
Carl Spingys
DynOPO Research Fellow
c.p.spingys@soton.ac.uk
Laura Herraiz Borreguero
Marie Curie Research Fellow
l.herraiz-borreguero@noc.soton.ac.uk

Current PhD students:

Xiaolong Yu, PhD candidate (GSNOCS)
xiaolong.yu@noc.soton.ac.uk
Submesoscale dynamics of the ocean surface boundary layer - OSMOSIS project
Neela Morarji (co-), PhD candidate (GSNOCS)
n.morarji@soton.ac.uk
On RAPID: Downturn of the MOC
Jesse Cusack, PhD candidate (GSNOCS)
jesse.cusack@noc.soton.ac.uk
Small-scale physical processes in the Southern Ocean - DIMES project
Ryan Patmore, PhD candidate (BAS / GSNOCS)
ryapat30@bas.ac.uk
Dynamics of the Southern Ocean's polar gyres
Nikki Brown, PhD candidate (GSNOCS)
n.j.brown@soton.ac.uk
Mixing and water mass transformations in the Arctic Ocean - TEA-COSI project
Tiago Dotto, PhD candidate (GSNOCS), 2015–
tiago.dotto@noc.soton.ac.uk
Dynamics of the Ross Gyre, Antarctica
Jack Hooley, PhD candidate (GSNOCS), 2015–
j.hooley@soton.ac.uk
Dynamics of the Southern Ocean circulation under ice
Delphine Lobelle, PhD candidate (GSNOCS), 2015–
delphine.lobelle@soton.ac.uk
Abrupt climate change: Potential collapse of the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation
David Bett, PhD candidate (BAS / GSNOCS), 2015–
davbet33@bas.ac.uk
The effect of Amundsen Sea freshwater on melting of the West Antarctic Ice Sheet
Ryan Scott, PhD candidate (BAS / GSNOCS), 2015–
ryacot85@bas.ac.uk
Investigation of ocean mixing and oceanic heat delivery across the West Antarctic Peninsula shelf using ocean gliders

Some past members:

Freya Garry
PhD, 2013 - 2017
Now a Research Fellow at the University of Exeter.
Victoria Hemsley
PhD, 2012-2016.
Now a postdoc at Queen Mary.
Christian Buckingham
OSMOSIS Research Fellow, 2013 - 2016
Now a Research Fellow at the British Antarctic Survey.
Lena Schulze
PhD, 2012-2016
Now a Research Fellow at Florida State University.
Liam Brannigan
PhD, 2011-2015
Now a Research Fellow at the University of Stockholm.
Louis Clement
PhD, 2010 - 2014
Now a Research Fellow at the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University.
Alex Brearley
DIMES Research Fellow, 2011 - 2014
Now a NERC Independent Research Fellow at the British Antarctic Survey.
Katy Sheen
DIMES Research Fellow, 2011 - 2014
Now a Lecturer at the University of Exeter.
Takamasa Tsubouchi
ASBO and TEA-COSI Research Fellow, 2008 - 2014
Now a Marie Curie Fellow at the Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Bremerhaven.
Stephanie Waterman
SOFine Research Fellow, 2009 - 2012
Now an Assistant Professor at the University of British Columbia.
Jonathan Lauderdale
PhD, 2007 - 2011
Now a Research Associate at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.